Picture of Tara Breslow
Your Criminal Defense Lawyer
REQUEST A FREE CONSULTATION
★★★★★ “FOREVER GRATEFUL MOM,
THANK YOU TARA, YOU'RE TERRIFIC!”

Articles Posted in Superior Court

Published on:

If you have been charged in the State of New Jersey with any of the following offenses, you may be eligible for a Conditional Discharge pursuant to NJSA 2C:36-A-1: NJSA 2C:35-10(c), failure to turn over CDS to an officer “failure to turn over;” NJSA 2C:35-10(a)(4), possession of less than 50 grams of marijuana; NJSA 2C:35-10(b), under the influence of CDS; NJSA 2C:36-2, possession of drug paraphernalia.  These matters are heard in Municipal Court.

What is a Conditional Discharge? If you are eligible for a Conditional Discharge, it does not automatically mean that you will enter into the Program. Pursuant to NJSA 2C:36A-1, an attorney can make a Motion to suspend further court proceedings and place their client on a special type of supervised probation. Since this is an optional program, it is important that the defense attorney prepare evidence showing that their client is a good candidate for a conditional discharge. It is helpful to collect letters of recommendation, proof of employment, drug treatment, and any other information that helps prove that the defendant will benefit from such program.

An experienced New Jersey criminal defense attorney can advise you if entrance into a Conditional Discharge is something you should consider. For example, the State needs to meet their burden by providing all discoverable materials, including but not limited to a lab report, if applicable. If the State does not provide the proper materials, it is possible by way of a motion that the matter can be dismissed.  Also, if you enter into a conditional discharge, after completion of the program you still need to expunge the matter if you want the arrest off your record. It is important to be aware that by entering into a conditional discharge you will not be eligible for other diversionary programs in the future such as Pre-Trial Intervention (PTI). Thus, it is imperative to have an experienced criminal defense attorney on your side to help guide you through the Municipal Court system.

Published on:

If you have been on Megan’s Law for 15 years and have not committed any new offense, then you could be eligible for removal from Megan’s Law and Community Supervision for Life.

Megan’s law was first enacted in 1994 and pursuant to N.J.S.A.2C:7-1, the Legislative intent was to punish those individuals who where convicted of sex crimes, as well as create a regulated monitoring system to protect the community at large. However, the Legislator also had the foresight to envision that in some situations relief from Megan’s Law would be appropriate. Specifically, removal from Megan’s Law can be sought where an individual remains offense free for a 15 year time period and is no longer a threat to the community. In pertinent part N.J.S.A.2C:7-2(f) states:

“Except as provided in subsection g. of this section, a person required to register

Published on:

PNC Arts Center is located in Monmouth County, New Jersey in the town of Holmdel. It is one of two major outdoor arenas located in the New York Metropolitan area. The venue has been the center of several controversies, including an incident during a Phish concert in 2000 where over 70 people were arrested, and the band was not invited back to the venue before their hiatus in 2004.

In recent years, there has been an increase in police presence at the Arts Center, and this has resulted with an increase in arrests for those attending concerts at the venue. Unfortunately, a night of fun and relaxation can result with an arrest that can jeopardize your future.

If you have been arrested on a felony charge in Holmdel, New Jersey, the matter will be transferred to the Superior Court located in Freehold. If you have been charged with a third or fourth degree Possession of Controlled Dangerous Substance (CDS) or any other felony charge, it is imperative that you hire an experienced Monmouth County criminal defense attorney to handle the matter. It is possible that the matter could be remanded back to municipal court. Or if this is your first offense you could be eligible for Pre-Trial Intervention (PTI), avoiding a criminal record.

Published on:

Juvenile matters are heard in the Family Division within the Superior Court usually where the crime occurs, or it can also be the county where the juvenile resides. Often times, if it is the juveniles first “run in” with the law, the juvenile is be eligible for a deferred disposition. This means that the juvenile will not have to be finger printed or give a DNA sample, and if he or she remains arrest free and complies with the other conditions, the adjudication will not go on their record.

Often times if these charges are serious or involve a burglary or if there is excessive restitution, the Prosecutor might oppose such disposition. If that occurs, then an experience New Jersey criminal lawyer can make a persuasive argument to the judge, and the judge could give the juvenile this opportunity. Also, there is the option of doing a back-ended deferred disposition, which means that for the time period of probation the disposition will remain on their record, however, if they complete the time period without any arrest and follow all conditions, then the disposition will be removed from the juveniles record.

This law office has helped thousands of juveniles get this type of result, giving them a second chance.

Published on:

Often times, people who lead productive law abiding lives make a mistake in their adult life, that leads to an arrest. Of course, a criminal record can lead to loss of a job, embarrassment and other life changing events. If you are a first time offender, PTI may be a way that you can keep a “clean” record. If you or a loved one has been charged with a felony offense, it is important to understand how PTI (pre-trial intervention) works, so that your future in no tainted by one event in poor judgment.

Whether you live in Monmouth, Ocean, Middlesex County or any other county in New Jersey, PTI supervisory programs are available in each county in the State of New Jersey. Usually, PTI is for 3rd and 4th degree offenders, however, an experienced criminal attorney could attempt to have the Prosecutor allow a 2nd degree offender apply to the program, and hopefully be accepted.

In order to be accepted, there is a two-phase application process, first you must be accepted by the probation department and then by the Prosecutor’s Office. Usually, PTI is for a 12 to 18 month time period. During the time period of PTI, you will need to report to a probation officer and follow all conditions imposed by the court. If there is an excessive amount of restitution to be paid back, then there might be a long time period for probation, but you can make an early release application. In addition, there is a community service component that one must complete which can range from 45 hours to 120 hours. All fines are to be paid through probation. It is important if you are accepted into PTI to comply with all conditions because you can be terminated and then face the original charges. After completion of PTI, you must wait 6 months to have the matter expunged.

Published on:

Ms. Breslow was successful last week in getting an individual removed from Megan’s Law, where the individual currently resides outside the State of New Jersey. Often times, a person who was put on Megan’s Law more than 15 years ago will decide to leave the state for one reason or another. Of course, other states have reciprocal Megan Law systems, so the person will have to register and often times he or she will be put on the internet. However, if someone has remained arrest free for more than 15 years since the date of conviction or release from incarceration, and the offense is one that is eligible for removal, then through an attorney the person can file a motion to be removed from Megan’s Law.

Being taken off Megan’s Law will have tremendous effects on one’s life, no longer facing the embarrassment they have encountered from neighbors, co-workers, loss of work, etc. Of course, the person needs to be evaluated by a psychologist, and there needs to be a recommendation submitted to the court with the motion papers.

If an individual resides out of state, the motion is filed in the county where the person was originally put on Megan’s Law. This is where the motion will be heard before a Superior Court Judge who is often assigned to Megan Law matters.

Published on:

What is K2? It is sometimes referred to as “Spice” or “Designer Marijuana,” and it is a type of synthetic cannabis product that is becoming more prevalent throughout New Jersey. If you or a loved one is caught in possession of this type of drug; be aware that it is classified under the same Schedule as cocaine and heroin and as such considered a controlled dangerous substance. Since this drug is somewhat new on the market, in the recent past many drug tests did not pick up on K2, however that has all changed in recent months.

At the present time, Police in Highlands are investigating four separate incidents where individuals ended up in the hospital after smoking K2. Reportedly, the substance was purchased from a gas station located in Keansburg. This substance can cause severe hallucinations. K2 is classified under the same schedule as cocaine or heroin. In recent months Monmouth and Ocean counties, there have been many other arrests over the past months involving different shops selling K2 in violation of Federal and State laws.

It is also very common that juveniles are arrested for possession of K2. If a juvenile is arrested for Possession of this type of controlled dangerous substance the matter will be heard before a Superior Court Judge in the Family Division. If you or a loved one has been arrested for possession of a controlled dangerous substance; it is imperative that you contact an experience criminal defense attorney.

Published on:

Prescription drug misuse is on the rise for juveniles in Monmouth County and the second most commonly abused category of drugs, behind marijuana. For juveniles, prescription drugs are more common than cocaine, heroin, methamphetamine and other drugs. These drugs are extremely addictive and include painkillers such as OxyContin or Vicodin, and tranquilizers like Xanax or Valium.

If a juvenile is arrested for possession of these drugs, he or she will have to appear before a Superior Court Judge in the county of residence. The local municipality where the juvenile was arrested will refer the matter to the Prosecutor’s Office. For example, if a juvenile was arrested in Middletown, the matter will be referred to Monmouth County Prosecutor’s Office.

It is imperative that an experienced juvenile criminal defense attorney handles the matter to avoid any type of long-term hardship to the juvenile. It is often the case that the family is concerned more with the drug misuse and the criminal matter takes a second seat. However, there are ways that the drug treatment can be incorporated into the juvenile matter so that the child benefits from the treatment.

Published on:

The fourth of July weekend brings many people to the jersey shore area and with the celebratory weekend, there is an increase in arrests for crimes related to Fireworks. Possession of Fireworks are illegal in the state of New Jersey notwithstanding the fact that they are very accessible to buy just over the state lines in Pennsylvania. The crime of Possession of fireworks is considered a disorderly persons offense which is punishable up to six months in jail. Possession of fireworks with the intent to sell is a fourth-degree offense with a maximum penalty of 18 months State Prison and fines up to $10,000. The following are considered fireworks: firecrackers, torpedoes, skyrockets, Roman candles and sparklers.

A disorderly persons offense is heard in the municipal court of the town or municipality where the arrest occurred. A fourth degree crime will likely be heard in the Superior Court of the county where the incident occurred.

Often times juveniles are arrested for possession of fireworks. Juvenile matters are heard in the family division of the Superior Court, and not the municipal courts. All juvenile matters are brought before the family division. It is important to avoid a criminal record in these type of situations so that there are not long term effects for immature acts.

Published on:

I have represented numerous juveniles who have been arrested in throughout Monmouth, Ocean and Middlesex counties. It is essential that the attorney representing the juvenile is familiar with how the juvenile system work as well as how to handle the legal issues that arise in criminal matters.

These matters are heard in the Superior Courts within the Family Division. Many juveniles and often times their parents are surprised that the matter is going to be heard in a Superior Court instead of a Municipal Court. The matter is assigned to a family court Judge who deals with juvenile matters and is thus familiar with juvenile matters. If this is the juvenile’s first offense, and the matter is minor in nature, often times he or she might be eligible for a deferred disposition, meaning that the sentence will be withheld for a specific time period and if the juvenile remains arrest free and complies with the imposed conditions then the matter will be dismissed. I have been in many situations where the Judge and/or Prosecutor is not inclined to give the Juvenile a deferred disposition for a variety of reasons. For example, they feel that the matter is too serious in nature, or they feel that that deferred dispositions are only appropriate for the most minor offenses since they do not believe probation should be dealing with these juveniles. Basically, there is inconsistently throughout the State of how juvenile matters are handled. Many times I have fought Judges on this issue and I have had great success.

It is important to have an experienced New Jersey criminal defense lawyer fighting on your side throughout this process.